Experiencing Dementia

Experiencing Dementia.

A Long Way to Go
But we are
GETTING THERE!!

I have just come back from doing two, 1 hour workshops at our local college where I spoke and answered questions on Dementia, my diagnosis , my thoughts for the future ect to two student groups who are taking “Social Care” as their curriculum.
As always, just before the end of my presentation I told them that I had, myself been diagnosed four years ago, and the following two minutes there was almost complete silence apart from very audible sharp intakes of breath!!

The questions of “HOW WHERE and WHEN” came thick and fast after and the most asked question was “What’s the difference between Alzheimer’s and Dementia? I had to explain to them all that DEMETIA is just the Umbrella term for all types of Dementia`s such as Alzheimer’s, Lewy Body`s, Frontal Lobal ect and I explained it in the way just as there are different types of Cancer, but its still cancer at the end of the day.

The most interesting part was that last question I have just mentioned (What’s the diff) was asked more by the Tutors than the Students?? Mmm, me thinks there is so much more to do yet, but please don’t let this distract from the awareness that WAS RAISED THIS MORNING. TWO SETS OF Students and TUTORS now know that it’s not an AGE RELATED disease, they went away knowing that people can still have a great quality of life with this illness and they will always remember the day Dementia came into their world, but hopefully left with a far better understanding of it.

Best wishes, Norrms and family xxxxxx

One thought on “Experiencing Dementia

  1. Glad that you were given this opportunity, Now that I am beginnig to understand the symptoms of my struggle and to integrate them with my experience, I too am better to articulate issues of the slowed processing of aquiring skills and remembering routines. Before I didn’t know what was wrong until I requested my medical file through the Freedom of Information Act and found that 11 years ago, I had been diagnosed with mild, global cerebral profusion deficits or MCI (Mild Cognitive Impairment). A kalidscope of feelings to be identified, felt and managed when grieving the disenfranchisement of never having been informed at the time. Angry. But at this time in my life also can sort of appreciate the impact that might have happened to me emotionally without the strong base I have developed through research, classes I’ve taken etc to handle the news or even know what it meant.

Leave a Reply

